About the Whadjuk Region

Whadjuk is the name of the dialectal group from the Perth area. Whadjuk is situated south of Yued and north of the Pinjarup dialectal groups.

The major cities and towns within the Whajuk region include Perth, Fremantle, Joondalup, Armadale, Toodyay, Wundowie, Bullsbrook and Chidlow. The approximate size of the Whadjuk region is 5,580 km.

Throughout the Whadjuk Region there are a range of significant Noongar sites. For instance, Ngooloormayup, known as Carnac Island; Meeandip, known as Garden Island; Gargangara north of Armadale; and Goolamrup, the suburb known as Kelmscott. Noongar people may refer to Kings Park as Karra katta or the hill of the spiders or Geenunginy Bo, the place for looking a long way. Dyarlgarro Beeliar is known as the Canning River and Derbal Yiragan, the Perth estuary waters.

The Whadjuk Claim for Native Title was made in September 2006.

Dyarlgarro Beeliar and Derbal Yiragan

Whadjuk Contact Details

Whadjuk Regional Development Coordinator
South West Aboriginal Land and Sea Council 1490 Albany Highway Cannington WA 6107
(08) 9358 7400

Start of page