About the South West Boojarah Region

The South West Boojarah region refers to the Wardandi and Bibulmun/Piblemen Noongar language or dialectical groups. Towards the east of the South West Boojarah region is the Wagyl Kaip region and northwards is the Gnaala Karla Booja region. The South West Boojarah region encompasses the towns of Capel, Margaret River, Witchcliffe, Augusta, Windy Harbour, Northcliffe, Pemberton, Manjimup, Bridgetown and Nannup. The approximate size of the South West Boojarah region is 10,085 sq kms.

There are a number of significant sites in the South West Boojarah region. These include caves, some of which are the homes of mythological beings, ceremonial sites, rock art, paintings and artefacts. Cultural sites of significance also include the Nannup Caves, Jewel Cave, Devil’s Lair and a Birthing Lake.

The South West Boojarah claim for Native Title was made in September, 2006.


South West Boojarah Contact Details

South West Boojarah Regional Development Coordinator
South West Aboriginal Land and Sea Council 1490 Albany Highway Cannington WA 6987
(08) 9358 7400

Start of page